2024 TIAA Institute Theodore M. Hesburgh Award Winner

March 3, 2024 | Washington, D.C.

Washington, D.C. – Kent Syverud, chancellor and president of Syracuse University, has won the 2024 TIAA Institute Theodore M. Hesburgh Award for Leadership Excellence in Higher Education. The award was presented in conjunction with the 2024 ACE Presidents and Chancellors SummitOpens in a new window hosted by the American Council on Education in Washington, D.C.

Sponsored by the TIAA Institute and administered by ACE, the Hesburgh Award is given to a current college or university president or chancellor for outstanding leadership of their institution and broad impact on society generally. The winner is chosen by an independent panel of judges.

The award is named in honor of the Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C., past president of the University of Notre Dame and longtime member of the TIAA and CREF Boards of Overseers. A world-renowned educator and humanitarian, Father Hesburgh (1917-2015) was a lifelong champion of human rights, supporter of interfaith dialogue, the cause of peace, and care for the poor.

To learn more about the award, visit our Awards page.