2020 TIAA Institute Theodore M. Hesburgh Award Presentation

SAN DIEGO, CA – On March 15, 2020, we will announce the winner of the 2020 TIAA Institute Theodore M. Hesburgh Award for Leadership Excellence in Higher Education. TIAA President and CEO Roger W. Ferguson, Jr. will present the award at the 102nd annual meeting of the American Council on Education in San Diego, CA.

The Hesburgh Award is named in honor of the Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C., past president of the University of Notre Dame and longtime member of the TIAA and CREF Boards of Overseers. A world-renowned educator and humanitarian, Father Hesburgh (1917-2015) was a lifelong champion of human rights, the cause of peace, and care for the poor. He received both the Congressional Gold Medal and the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the nation's highest civilian honor.

Sponsored by the TIAA Institute and administered by the American Council on Education, the Hesburgh Award is given to a current college or university president or chancellor who embodies Father Hesburgh's commitment to higher education and society at large. The winner is chosen by an independent panel of judges.

To learn more about the award, visit the Institute's Awards page.