2023 TIAA Paul A. Samuelson Award Ceremony

January 5, 2024 | San Antonio, TX

On Jan. 5, 2024, we announced the winner of the 2023 TIAA Paul A. Samuelson Award for Outstanding Scholarly Writing on Lifelong Financial Security. This year the judges chose Mark Egan (Harvard Business School and NBER), Shan Ge (Stern School of Business, New York University), and Johnny Tang (Cornell SC Johnson College of Business) for their paper “Conflicting Interests and the Effect of Fiduciary Duty: Evidence from Variable Annuities” published in The Review of Financial Studies 35 (2022) 5334–5386.

Named in honor of the Nobel Prize-winning economist and former CREF Trustee, the Samuelson Award is presented annually by the TIAA Institute to recognize research that helps advance Americans' financial well-being. To learn more about the award and its past recipients, who include four Nobel laureates, please visit our Awards page.

TIAA Paul A. Samuelson Award

2023 Samuelson Award Winners Johnny Tang, Shan Ge, Mark Egan and Surya Kolluri, Head of the TIAA Institute