2023 TIAA Institute Theodore M. Hesburgh Award Presentation

On April 15, 2023, we will announce the winner of the 2023 TIAA Institute Theodore M. Hesburgh Award for Leadership Excellence in Higher Education. The award will be presented at the annual meetingOpens in a new window of the American Council on Education (ACE) in Washington, D.C., and the evening before the award presentation we will host a special dinner to honor the winner.  

The Hesburgh Award, sponsored by the TIAA Institute and administered by ACE, is given to a current college or university president or chancellor for demonstrating outstanding leadership of their institution and having a broad impact on higher education generally. The winner is chosen by an independent panel of judges.

The award is named in honor of the Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C., past president of the University of Notre Dame and longtime member of the TIAA and CREF Boards of Overseers. A world-renowned educator and humanitarian, Father Hesburgh (1917-2015) was a lifelong champion of peace, human rights and care for the poor. To learn more about the award, visit our Awards page.