Joseph Newhouse


  • In 2014 he won the Victor R. Fuchs Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Society of Health Economists.
  • In 1981 he became the founding editor of the Journal of Health Economics, which he edited for 30 years.
  • First recipient of the David N. Kershaw Award and Prize of the Association for Public Policy and Management in 1983, which honors persons under 40 who have made a distinguished contribution to the field of public policy analysis and management.

Joseph Newhouse is the John D. MacArthur Professor of Health Policy and Management at Harvard University, Director of the Division of Health Policy Research and Education, and Director of the Interfaculty Initiative in Health Policy. He is a member of the faculties of the Harvard Kennedy School, the Harvard Medical School, the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health, and the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, as well as a Faculty Research Associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

A distinguished and recognized authority on the subject of health economics, Dr. Newhouse has been elected to, served and recognized by a number of professional organizations, associations and publications: past member of the New England Journal of Medicine editorial board; Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences; inaugural President of the American Society of Health Economists; past vice-chair of the Medicare Payment Advisory Commission; regent of the National Library of Medicine; and many more. Dr. Newhouse earned his B.A. and Ph.D. in Economics from Harvard University, and received an honorary doctoral degree from the Pardee RAND Graduate School.